What state is it?
Nebraska is now a Constitutional Carry state.
Calling it a “historic day,” Gov. Jim Pillen signed Nebraska’s permitless concealed carry bill into law.
“With the signing of this bill into law, we do justice to the constitutional promise. Promises made, promises kept,” Pillen said.
Nearly all 26 senators who co-sponsored the bill were at the bill signing ceremony Tuesday, including the bill’s introducer, state Sen. Tom Brewer.
“LB 77 has been a seven-year process, so to finally have all the votes done and the governor sign it is a big relief,” Brewer said. The law becomes effective 90 days after the session ends, which will be in early September.
Nebraskans 21 and older who can legally own a gun would be able to conceal carry without paying $100 for a permit or taking a gun safety class — it’s now optional.
“It won’t make things any less or more safe. It just makes folks able to have a concealed weapon and not worry about having charges brought against them,” Brewer said.
Open carry is legal without a permit in Nebraska for anyone at least 18 years of age that is not prohibited from possessing a firearm, although it may be restricted by local governments. For open carry in a vehicle, the firearm must be clearly visible. Some areas are off-limits, including schools.
Nebraska already honored the Illinois permit, so there is no change to Illinois residents.
Stay Informed! Stay Safe!